Follow Innovative Percussion on Facebook Follow Innovative Percussion on Twitter Instagram YouTube

David Sinclair

Harlingen High School South
Share On
Share on FacebookTwitter
Originally from South Fulton, TN, David Sinclair currently resides in Harlingen, TX, where he is Assistant Band Director/Percussion Instructor for the Harlingen High School South Band. Under his instruction, the Mighty Hawk Band advanced to the Texas 5A State Marching Contest in 2008. He also teaches percussion at Vela Middle School and Coakley Middle School, where his duties include teaching beginners and working with the Symphonic Band percussion section. Before moving to south Texas, David was active as a percussion educator in middle and high schools throughout West Tennessee and Kentucky, where he served as a private instructor and percussion specialist with various band programs for seven years. From May 2007 until May 2008, David served on the percussion staff of the 15-time KMEA State Marching Champion Lafayette High School Band, where he taught marching percussion, private lessons, and assisted with the direction of the award-winning concert percussion ensemble. David has also been active in recent years as an adjudicator for solo and ensemble festivals, regional honor band auditions, and marching band contests. In addition to his teaching career, David is an accomplished musical artist. In 2004 and 2007, he performed at the Percussive Arts Society International Convention with the University of Tennessee at Martin and the University of Kentucky Percussion Ensembles. David’s recent musical credits have included being a member of the UK Steel Band, Symphony Orchestra, and Balinese Gamelan Ensembles, playing as an extra percussionist in the Lexington Philharmonic, and winning the UK Symphony Orchestra’s 2007 Concerto Competition. David holds a Master’s Degree in Percussion Performance from the University of Kentucky and a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education from the University of Tennessee at Martin. His teachers include Nancy Mathesen, Tim Genis, Leigh Howard Stevens, She-e Wu and James Campbell.