Follow Innovative Percussion on Facebook Follow Innovative Percussion on Twitter Instagram YouTube

Marcelo Bucater

Los Angeles College of Music
Drum Department Chair
Share On
Share on FacebookTwitter
Marcelo Bucater is a drummer/percussionist and educator from São Paulo - Brazil based in Los Angeles since 2013.

Currently, he is the Drum Department Chair at Los Angeles College of Music (LACM), teaching private and group lessons.

Marcelo has worked as a session and touring musician, recording and performing live with many different artists. His versatility as a drummer and percussionist led to performances accompanying artists of different genres all over the world.He has produced, recorded and performed with independent artists and renowned musicians such as Carrie Underwood for the 51st ACM Award, Ladybug Mecca (Digable Planets), Arthur Verocai, Adrian Younge (Jazz is Dead), Tinto Tango (Latin Grammy Winner), Antonio Carlos & Jocafi, Adam Levy (Norah Jones), Darek Oles, Scott Henderson, Philip Bynoe, John Avila (Oingo Boingo), Gemini (Producer), Natália Spadini, Shandy and Eva, Andrew Murdock (Producer), Koobong Ensemble and Phat Cat Swinger to name a few.

Performed in venues like Lincoln Center (NY), Disney California Adventure, Rose Bowl, Levi's Stadium, MGM Arena in Las Vegas, Microsoft Theater, Hollywood Pantages Theater, Pershing Square LA, El Rey Theater, NAMM Show, Thalia Hall, Queen Mary, The Mayan, and many others.

Marcelo is a member of the Recording Academy and a voting member of the Latin Grammys. Some of his music projects include the Press Award 2020 Finalist group Little Brazil Trio – which made it to the 20th Annual Latin Grammy Awards ballot in five categories and was a finalist at the 24th Annual USA Songwriting Competition with the original song “Vem”.

With a Bachelor's in Music at FAAM (SP-Brazil), a Degree in Music Performance at Los Angeles College of Music, and a Master's Degree in Jazz Performance at California Institute of The Arts(CalArts), he had the chance to study with renowned musicians such as Jeff Hamilton, Joe LaBarbera, Ralph Humphrey, Randy Gloss, Joe Porcaro, and Edu Ribeiro.